Learning Spanish as a Second Language Must be FUN

Does learning a second language have to be a painstaking one, or could it be an enjoyable journey full of discoveries, challenges and achievements? 

mensaje

I believe learning a language is a journey into a universe where we gain new skills to communicate with others. It also enables us to understand different cultures, grants us new ways of thinking and it broadens our horizons.

Today there are so many different types of ways to learn interactively and these help us to learn faster than ever before.  In fact there are a myriad of resources available, particularly on the internet and we can easily be overwhelmed at choosing the right one.  So what is the best way to learn a second language quickly?

Learning a language must be FUN

 Frequent

Understanding the social context

Navigation into a new universe

I believe that learning a language must be FUN: it must be a frequent and enjoyable route into an unknown universe full of discoveries.  In order to understand a new language it must be relevant to the learner and using conversational techniques helps us to grasp and to memorise these new ideas faster.

What do I mean when I say “Frequent”?

If you want to learn a language effectively, although formal lessons should be recommended to be undertaken on a regular basis, that is not the whole story.

When you want to learn a language it is essential to get as much regular exposure to the new language as possible.  This includes listening to songs, watching films, or having the radio playing in the background whilst doing other activities; such as homework or washing the dishes.  It is all part of the immersive process, which supports formal lessons, and is a key factor to the retention and the discovery of a new vocabulary and expressions.

Understanding the social context

A new language is learned by assimilating words, expressions and phrases, and we connect them with those we already know in our day to day activities.

By using games, conversation, role-play, videos, audios, exercises and written work, the connections begin to build up and embed themselves. This means we will not only learn quickly but we will remember what we have learned.

 Navigation into a new universe

Learning a new language means we explore a new culture. In practical terms this means that we need to develop our listening, speaking, reading and writing skills. We need to understand which of these skills is most relevant to us and this needs to be understood before starting to learn a new language.

I see language students as adventurous 21st Century astronauts in a yet unwritten novel, exploring a new world with their own eyes.  They are the new Adam and Eve in a new Paradise, eager to eat the apple from the Tree of Knowledge and starting to re-name everything they discover.

Every journey needs a map.  We may know our departure point and our destination but to get there we need to make a plan: an effective and realistic plan. What are the steps we have to make in order to reach our destination?

As in any journey, this one begins with the first step. There is nothing more bold and generous than to learn a language. It is an infinite enterprise worthy of heroes [1].  It broadens our minds and allows us to see the world with different eyes.

February 2014.


[1] Free translation from Gramática básica del estudiante de español, edición revisada y ampliada, 2012.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About hoxton spanish tutor info

Hi, my name is Adrian Sanchez. I am passionate about words and languages, particularly Spanish, the language I learned at my mother’s knee. I am curious about how languages change and evolve. I am a qualified Spanish Teacher (CLTA) and a journalist. I have taught in literacy campaigns in Latin America and given Spanish tuition in Spain and in the UK. I would like to share some of my thoughts on the Spanish language; and particularly on what I have learned from my students, who in many ways have become my teachers throughout the years. Spanish is a vast and beautiful language and I would like you to accompany me on a journey of discoveries, so I will be presenting two blogs per month and I would like to hear from you. Here is a link to my webpage: spanish-tutor.info You can visit my blog here: spanishtutorinfo.wordpress.com Email: info@Spanish-tutor.info Thank you!

4 responses to “Learning Spanish as a Second Language Must be FUN”

  1. Lisa M says :

    Getting a Spanish speaking partner also helps with fun and motivation!!

    Like

  2. Bernie says :

    Hi, are you using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you need any html coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

    Like

    • hoxton spanish tutor info says :

      Dear Bernie,

      Thank you for contacting me. Yes, I am using WordPress and you do not need html coding expertise to use WordPress.

      I am writing this blog focussing on Spanish language learning, as well as Spanish and Latin American culture. I would like to suggest that we could discuss blogging techniques in a private forum. Please fell free to contact me at my email address provided in my profile: info@spanish-tutor.info

      Thank you again and all the best.

      Adrián Sánchez

      Like

Leave a Reply

