Step by Step (Part 1) – Learning Spanish Language with “The Sound of Music”.

Alaska

Alaska – Bailando

Frequent exposure to Spanish language is essential in order to become familiar with its sounds and expressions for a consistent and effective learning process. It is important that a student should be eager to integrate Spanish into their everyday life when starting to learn the language and the best way to achieve this will be different for each individual.

Ways of familiarising your ears to the sounds of a new language can include: listening to Spanish music or to talk-radio and watching online television from Spanish speaking countries. Even if students do not understand everything, it provides an insight into the syntax of the language and will help with correct pronunciation on the path to fluent Spanish.

Proactive curiosity and appropriation of words and expressions from extra class activities, as if we were picking up gold nuggets from the river of knowledge, is and will always be a rewarding pursuit in any learning process. IMG_5373 How often have we listened to a song and subsequently accessed online lyric providers to ensure that whilst we are singing along we are in fact singing the correct words? The same is true for Spanish music. Find a song that you like, find the lyrics online and sing-along, using a Spanish dictionary as a companion to discover what the song is about.

A native speaker or a teacher can help you to choose appropriate songs matching your level of Spanish and can help in explaining the nuances of the lyrics which all feeds into the learning process. We are spoiled for choice when deciding on the types of Spanish music to listen to. From the myriad of romantic Cuban Boleros, a slow-gentle genre, to the emotional and sensual Flamenco from Spain, there is a wide range of styles and rhythms to suit all tastes.

It is hard is for me to pick just one bolero in particular but one of my favourites is “Como fue” by the Colombian singer Ikira Baru, or the version sung by Chilean Felo Bohr. When I think of ‘Bolero’ music I cannot help but think of the well known group “Trio los Panchos” (who was my parents’ favourite Bolero group of all time) so why not surf the internet and find one of their songs, find the lyrics as part of an extra circular approach to mastering Spanish?

Armando Manzanero

My romantic father used to sing to my mother this song by Armando Manzanero:

” Cuando estoy contigo no se que es más bello, 


Si el color del cielo o el de tu cabello. 


No sé de tristezas todo es alegría,

Solo se que eres tú la vida mía.”

 

” When I am with you I don’t know what is more beautiful

 the color of the sky or the color of your hair.

I don’t know of sadness, all is happiness,

only I know that you are my life (free translation).”

 Inspirational poetry, by Spanish literary figures, has become beautiful lyrics set to music; such as “La Paloma” by Rafael Alberti as performed by Juan Manuel Serrat in 1968 and listening to this will provide an insight into the beauty of the Spanish language.

For those who like to shake their body whilst doing chores: the sensual Colombian Cumbia and the Dominican Bachata; the rhythmic Cuban Cha-cha-cha, Rumba and Mambo; the romantic melodies from South and Central America, Latin American Rock, the prolific contemporary Latin pop music and the Salsa will help to keep you in shape and to become more fluent.

La vida es una tombola, Rubén Blades sings in the well known Salsa: Pedro Navaja, a wonderful and tragic story not to be missed and Alaska, one of the great divas of Spanish music from the 80’s and 90’s, recorded Bailando, one of her most successful songs, which became an anthem for Spanish Youth.

Whilst formal structured classes are the primary option for those learning Spanish frequent indirect exposure via music is to be strongly recommended (Trust me I am a Spanish Tutor) if you want to become fluent. Before I say goodbye for now, I’d like to mention the song: No habrá nadie en el mundo, by the sensual and emotionally charged voice of Concha Buika, a Godess of Spanish music that I have recently discovered.

Concha Buika ©BbyB,LLC/Javi Rojo

Concha Buika © BbyB,LLC/Javi Rojo

If you would like to receive a list of recommended songs which I believe will assist you in learning Spanish please feel free to contact

May 2014

Tags: , , ,

About hoxton spanish tutor info

Hi, my name is Adrian Sanchez. I am passionate about words and languages, particularly Spanish, the language I learned at my mother’s knee. I am curious about how languages change and evolve. I am a qualified Spanish Teacher (CLTA) and a journalist. I have taught in literacy campaigns in Latin America and given Spanish tuition in Spain and in the UK. I would like to share some of my thoughts on the Spanish language; and particularly on what I have learned from my students, who in many ways have become my teachers throughout the years. Spanish is a vast and beautiful language and I would like you to accompany me on a journey of discoveries, so I will be presenting two blogs per month and I would like to hear from you. Here is a link to my webpage: spanish-tutor.info You can visit my blog here: spanishtutorinfo.wordpress.com Email: info@Spanish-tutor.info Thank you!

29 responses to “Step by Step (Part 1) – Learning Spanish Language with “The Sound of Music”.”

  1. Tony O'Hara says :

    Very informative Mr Sanchez. I look forward to reading more of your thoughts.

    Like

  2. Kevin Doble says :

    A great selection of music. I particularly enjoyed the songs of Conchita Buika. I find listening to spanish lyrics very helpful with my spanish tuition.

    Like

  3. linda bekkari says :

    Thiis is fantastic well done

    Like

  4. Mr Chiara Liguori (@rwillmsen) says :

    Excellent blog! On a slightly different note, this song helped me a lot when I was learning Spanish: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CRf80dWO7uI&feature=kp. Btw I guess you mean Spanish-language music rather than Spanish music per se..

    Like

  5. Lisa M says :

    Music and songs, I agree, they have helped me as a struggling student of English and Spanish!

    Like

  6. Ebon Talifarro says :

    Hey, I’m Ebon Talifarro, my class (8th grade) wants to interview you, would you have time to answer a few questions?

    Like

  7. check out this cajon box says :

    After looking at a few of the blog posts on your site, I seriously like your way of
    blogging. I saved it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my web site as well and let me know what you think.

    Like

  8. Jens says :

    Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it
    from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make
    my blog shine. Please let me know where you got
    your theme. Appreciate it

    Like

  9. informative leaf blower reviews says :

    I visited several of your blogs, except the audio features. Your blog is truly wonderful.

    Like

  10. http://sns.showgz.com says :

    Everything is very open with a really clear explanation of
    the issues. It was really informative. Your site is useful.

    Many thanks for sharing!

    Like

  11. 2011 specialized crosstrail sport says :

    I am admiring the time and energy you put into your site and detailed information you present.It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that
    isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Wonderful read!

    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Like

  12. fast specialized crosstrail says :

    First of all, I want to say: terrific blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear
    your thoughts prior to writing. I’ve had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there.

    I do take pleasure in writing, however, it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints? Thanks!

    Like

    • hoxton spanish tutor info says :

      Dear friend,

      Thank you for your kind comments!

      I am writing this blog focussing on Spanish language learning, as well as Spanish and Latin American culture. I would like to suggest that we could discuss blogging techniques in a private forum. Please fell free to contact me at my email address provided in my profile: info@spanish-tutor.info

      Thank you again and all the best.

      Adrián Sánchez

      Like

  13. www.ixda.org says :

    Thanks to my father who told me concerning this webpage. This blog is genuinely remarkable. Angela

    Like

  14. Tristan says :

    Excellent way of describing and nice post to take data regarding my presentation topic, which i am going to deliver in school.

    Like

  15. leaf vacuum mulcher says :

    Generally I do not read articles from blogs, however,I wish to say that this write-up has motivated me to read more blogs! Your writing style has surprissed me. Thank you, very great post. Ruth.

    Like

  16. Heather says :

    Magnificent post,very informative. I am confident, you’ve a great readers following you already! Heather

    Like

  17. Makita lxt211 says :

    I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.Do you have any tips for blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it. Makita

    Like

    • hoxton spanish tutor info says :

      Dear friend,

      Thank you for your kind comments!

      I am writing this blog focussing on Spanish language learning, as well as Spanish and Latin American culture. I would like to suggest that we could discuss blogging techniques in a private forum. Please fell free to contact me at my email address: info@spanish-tutor.info

      Thank you again and all the best.

      Adrián Sánchez

      Like

  18. leaf shredder lowes says :

    This article will assist the internet visitors for building up new blog or even a blogs from start too end. Bert.

    Like

  19. cordless hammer drill reviews says :

    Wow, incredible blog format! How long have you been blogging for? You make blogging look easy. The whole look of your site is great, as well as the content material!
    Precious

    Like

  20. babybelovedinc.com says :

    Nice post. I’m impressed!Extremely helpful information. Thank you and best of luck.

    Like

  21. flipping strategy says :

    Fantastic blog!

    Like

  22. auburnfurs.com says :

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog! I guess for
    now i’ll sdttle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

    Like

  23. lainguyenit says :

    Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

