UPDATE – The 23rd Edition of the Spanish Dictionary will be Launched Today.

Model of the 23rd edition of the Dictionary of the Spanish language. Tercentenary Edition. Courtesy of RAE © Real Academia Española - RAE

23rd edition of the Dictionary of the Spanish language. Tercentenary Edition. Courtesy of RAE © Real Academia Española, RAE.

The launch of the 23rd edition of the Diccionario de la lengua española, Dictionary of the Spanish Language, which was planned for the end of October, will take place today, 16 October, in Spain and Latin América.

The launch is to commemorate the tercentenary of the Real Academia Española, RAE, Royal Spanish Academy and is a joint work undertaken by the 22 Academies that are part of the Asociación de Academias de la Lengua Española, ASALE, Asociation of Spanish Language Academies.

On 17 October, the new edition will be presented at the Royal Spanish Academy before the Spanish King and Queen, Don Felipe and Doña Letizia.

For more details about this new edition of the Spanish Dictionary, please see my blog published on 29 August 2014: The 23rd edition of the official Spanish Language Dictionary will be published in October 2014.

I would advise Spanish language students to use this dictionary when they feel confident that they are able to avoid the bilingual language dictionaries. This will enable you to become more familiar with vocabulary and to develop a better undertanding of the language. Access to the electronic copy of the Spanish dictionary is free and can be accessed at the RAE website: http://www.rae.es/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About hoxton spanish tutor info

Hi, my name is Adrian Sanchez. I am passionate about words and languages, particularly Spanish, the language I learned at my mother’s knee. I am curious about how languages change and evolve. I am a qualified Spanish Teacher (CLTA) and a journalist. I have taught in literacy campaigns in Latin America and given Spanish tuition in Spain and in the UK. I would like to share some of my thoughts on the Spanish language; and particularly on what I have learned from my students, who in many ways have become my teachers throughout the years. Spanish is a vast and beautiful language and I would like you to accompany me on a journey of discoveries, so I will be presenting two blogs per month and I would like to hear from you. Here is a link to my webpage: spanish-tutor.info You can visit my blog here: spanishtutorinfo.wordpress.com Email: info@Spanish-tutor.info Thank you!

Leave a Reply

